Thursday, March 8, 2018

Lily Turn's 7!


Lily with her unicorn hat on. She is a big
fan of Unicorns these days!



Lily with her Mom (my daughter) Stephanie on her
7th birthday! Acting like a goof again.  I can't believe how fast that 7 years
has flown by!














Tuesday, February 27, 2018

What's on your nightstand?


Stop by 5minutesformom.com and link up to What's on your Nightstand!

I am so happy because I am 6 books ahead on my goodreads goal!

Recently I have read.
Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly 

A story of three different women during WWII. Caroline Ferriday works
at the French Consulate in N.Y.  
Herta Oberheuser, a German doctor working at a German concentration camp.
And Kasia Kuzmerick, a teen living in Poland who is taken to an all woman
 Nazi concentration camp, called Ravensbrück.
It is interesting to see how the lives of these ladies all connect and shocking
to read about the things that happened during their time at the camp.

Also I read a few more books,

Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine.


Lies She Told by Cate Holahan



Time of my life by 
This week I want to try to read

The second book in the Stilhouse Lake series, Killman Creek
and for book club we
are reading 
The race for Paris by Meg Waite Clayton

This book starts out in Normandy in 1944 during WWII and is about two American journalists and an Englishman, who together race the Allies to Occupied Paris to get photo's to launch
their careers.


Off to check out what the other bloggers are reading and planning on reading! 






Sunday, February 25, 2018

St Pat's Mantel 2018





Bought a new mirror for ten dollars at an estate sale today.
Put up my St Patrick's Day decorations. 
I can't believe it will  be March soon and my grand daughter
will be seven years old on Saturday!
Time sure fly's by quickly!



Monday, February 19, 2018

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly


We read a truly great book for book club this last week.
Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly.  The ladies were very engrossed in
the novel and it made for a great conversation.  If you get a chance
I highly recommend it!


Here is the blurb from Amazon

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France.

An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences.

For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power.

The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten.

USA Today “New and Noteworthy” Book • LibraryReads Top Ten Pick


Have you read anything great this month!